Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Creating a Block Booking

If you run courses, programmes or multi-session treatments, Block Bookings provide a simple way to manage a series of linked group sessions.

When a group session is set up in your calendar, ticking Is this a block booking? will open additional configuration options allowing you to define the block length and whether clients can book into the block after the first session.  

This setting is designed for treatment blocks which are booked and attended as a whole block of for example 6 sessions.   

If you want to schedule one off or recurring group sessions that don't need to be block booked, take a look at Creating a group appointment instead. 

Before you begin

Before creating a block booking, ensure that:

Create a block booking

  1. Open the WriteUpp Calendar.
  2. Select a free slot at date and time for the booking.
  3. The New Appointment modal will open.
  4. Select the Group tab at the top of the modal
  5. Choose the Group Type.
  6. Complete the details, including the clinician and location, if required.
  7. Choose the required recurrence pattern, such as daily, weekly or monthly, and set the Until date far enough into the future to cover the proposed block length. 
  8.  Tick Is this a block booking? 
    Zight 2026-08-04 at 10.26.37 am
  9. Set the Block length, which defines the number of sessions in the block.

    For example, if you run a 6 session training course, set the Block length to 6, which will schedule the block to run for that many sessions, and link clients booking in to all 6 sessions.
  10. Choose whether you'd like to allow bookings after the first session has taken place. 

    For example, if you schedule a 6 session training course, can a client miss the first session and then book in for the remaining 5?  If so, ticking Allow bookings after the first session has taken place? would allow this. If all sessions in the block must be booked and attended as a whole, leave this setting unticked. 
  11. Then Save.

Note - If the Until date selected does not cover all sessions in the block, you'll see a warning message appear when saving. In this example, the Until date selected does not accommodate the selected Block Length

      Zight 2026-08-04 at 10.36.29 am  

Once all settings have been selected, you'll see a summary of the block length on screen: 

Zight 2026-08-04 at 10.38.54 am

When clients are added to a group session which has been set up as a block booking, they'll be added to every session in a group.  

If Allow bookings after the first session has taken place is selected, and the block is available via online booking, clients can book themselves onto the remaining sessions after the block has started.

Using the WriteUpp app?
Group bookings already scheduled in the calendar can be viewed in the WriteUpp app, but they cannot currently be created or managed from the app. 

What happens next?

As with one off or recurring group appointments, you can then: